The Furrow Collective

Winners of Group of the Year at the BBC Radio Two Folk Awards 2017, and featuring Rachel Newton, Musician of the Year, The Furrow Collective is a critically acclaimed English/Scottish band consisting of four distinctive and talented performers: Lucy Farrell (viola, voice & saw), Rachel Newton (harp, fiddle, voice), Emily Portman (banjo, concertina, voice) and Alasdair Roberts (guitars, voice).

The group formed in 2013, drawn together by a shared love of traditional song and balladry of England, Scotland and beyond and an open, intuitive approach to collaboration. Their 2014 debut album, At Our Next Meeting, was variously heralded as ‘a quietly triumphant set’ (The Guardian), ‘a quietly thrilling approach to traditional song'(R2 Magazine) and ‘one of the finest collaborative albums of the past few years’ (Folk Radio UK). Boasting a stripped-back power, the album led to a nomination for Best Group and Best Traditional Track in the 2015 BBC Radio Two Folk Awards and 2015’s five-song EP Blow Out the Moon was similarly well-received, resulting in another Best Traditional Track nomination the following year.

November 2016 saw the release of the group’s second album, Wild Hog, which shows a marked development in the group’s sound and approach and was similarly well received.

Songs full of death and magic.’ The Guardian****

‘a winningly produced masterclass in folk tradition.’ The Observer ****

‘A group of singers and musicians at the peak of their powers’
fRoots***** Album Choice Playlist

‘Strongly collaborative, innovative and quite distinctive’ Songlines ***** Top of The World

‘Wild Hog is a confident, original record that will offer more to the listener with each spin’ R2*****


Gate to Southwell Festival